Hell Week and Covid19: NUS Dentistry Year 2 Reflections

Jian Kiat
2 min readJul 23, 2020

I made this blog post in a video form as well: Click here for it

Hey guys, it’s been a while since I cleared Year 2 and started Year 3. I just wanted to share my reflections in a written format.

The end of Year 2 meant the start of Year 3. This also signifies that I will be seeing patients soon in clinics. I am filled with both excitement, as I am moving onto a new stage in my dental school; and trepidation, as I start being responsible for the treatment of my patients. I would love to see how this progresses as I start to get more competent with my treatments; but that’s one for the future.

Looking back, Year 2 started off with fun. We got to (fortunately, in these COVID19 times) hold a real-life fun orientation and rag for the juniors.

And… That’s about all the ‘fun’ I had.

Year 2 is notoriously known for its hell week: we had 8 papers scheduled in a span of 5 days… followed by a ‘supplementary’ dose of finals a month after.

Fortunately, unlike my first year, I did better and am quite happy with my results.So how did I manage doing better despite a tougher schedule?

I just maintained consistency.

I am not the type of student that is able to cram everything into my head at the last minute, so I just studied a bit everyday working up to this hell period. I am still working to improve on my studying methods, so I would love to hear some suggestions on how to do so.

In addition, the end of Year 2 clashed with the whole COVID19 pandemic going on now and to share how my lessons got affected:

Basically, our theory lessons got moved online, while our class is split for practical/hands on to reduce mixing with additional safety distancing procedures in place. I would just like to thank the school for their efforts in adapting to these turbulent times.

I honestly miss seeing my whole class together as one and moving about in school. It’s as if there’s a certain vibe that is missing. Hoping that things will return back to normal soon!

Meanwhile, I’ll be posting biweekly vlogs of my days in school for the last 2 years of Dental School on my Youtube Channel! . I want to create some nice memories for my friends to look back upon after graduating. So do check it out and leave a subscribe or any suggestion in the comments.

Thank you for reading!

--

--